iCloud Photo Sharing – How to Turn On and Use iCloud Photo Sharing

by Niko |Dec 01,2016..

What is iCloud Photo Sharing? This guide will help you figure out how to turn on and use iCloud Photo Sharing.

ios10-icloud-photo-sharing-heroiCloud offers one of the best and most convenient ways to store and share your photos and videos. Every photo and video you take lives in iCloud, you are able to access your iCloud Photo Library and organize iCloud photos anytime, anywhere, from any iOS device you want.

iCloud Photo Library is used to store iCloud photos, so how to share your iCloud photos? The feature iCloud Photo Sharing is available to achieve it.

Generally, iCloud Photo Sharing makes it very easy to share photos and videos with friends and family by creating a shared album. Meanwhile, you are allowed to subscribe to other people’s shared albums as well. In the following, we are going to show you how to turn on iCloud Photo Sharing and how to use iCloud Photo Sharing.

*Note: before using iCloud Photo Sharing, make sure you have already updated your iOS devices to the latest iOS system and signed in to iCloud with the same Apple ID on all devices. On these conditions, you can completely make use of iCloud Photo Sharing features to share your iCloud photos.

How to Turn on iCloud Photo Sharing

To enable iCloud Photo Sharing on iPhone, iPad or iPod Touch, go to Settings > iCloud > Photos, and turn on iCloud Photo Sharing

enable_icloud_photo_sharing_on_iphone

To enable iCloud Photo Sharing on Mac, go to System Preferences > iCloud > Options next to Photos, and select iCloud Photo Sharing or Photo Sharing

enable_icloud_photo_sharing_on_mac_1

enable_icloud_photo_sharing_on_mac_2

For Windows PC users, you can download and set up iCloud for Windows to use iCloud Photo Sharing features as well.

How to Use iCloud Photo Sharing

iCloud Photo Sharing is one of the most amazing features allowing you manage your iCloud photos and share them with the friends you add. To use iCloud Photo Sharing,

Go to Photos > Shared > Start Sharing

Enter the Shared Album name, invite friends (up to 100) and click Create

how_to_use_icloud_photo_sharing_2

Now, you and the invited friends can share, like photos and make comments. 

how_to_use_icloud_photo_sharing_3

iCloud Photo Sharing supports JPEG, RAW, PNG, GIF, TIFF, and MP4, as well as special formats you capture with your iPhone, like slo-mo, time-lapse, 4K videos, and Live Photos. You can even share your Memory videos. According to Apple, a shared album can hold up to 5000 photos and videos. If you reach the limit, you have to delete some of them before adding new ones.

As the creator of a shared album, you can add, remove subscribers and delete an album. 


Related Readings:

How to Delete Photos from iCloud Photo Library

How to Access iCloud Photo Library On The Web

How to Turn Off iCloud Photo Library but Still Retain Images in Photos

Tag:iPhone tips, iCloud Photos